RSSIn The News

Archived News Items

Professor Beth Bilson wins YWCA Women of Distinction award

College of Law professor Beth Bilson was honoured at the YWCA Saskatoon Women of Distinction awards ceremony on May 29 as the winner in the category of Leadership, Management and Professions.

The ceremony celebrated 37 Saskatoon and area women who were nominated in ten categories including Community Building, Health and Wellness, and Education.

“Beth is a person that leads by example and the example she has set is one of diligence in completing what needs to be done and being respectful of other people,” said Heather Heavin and Michaela Keet, College of Law faculty members who nominated Bilson for the award. “With humility, diligence and a strong work ethic, she undertakes significant leadership roles in the College of Law, the university, the legal profession and the community.  When there is an important committee to be led, or a perspective that needs to be heard, we turn to Beth as our resource.”

“I can think of no one more deserving of this award than Beth,” said Sanjeev Anand, dean of the College of Law. “Throughout her long and distinguished career, Beth has inspired others to give back to their professions and communities and she has excelled at providing sound mentorship to generations of students, faculty, staff and lawyers.”

Bilson began her academic career as a student of history and then completed her Bachelor of Laws degree at the University of Saskatchewan and a PhD at the University of London. She has been on the faculty of the College of Law since 1979, specializing in labour and administrative law, and legal history. She has served as chair of the Saskatchewan Labour Relations Board, as the first female dean of the College of Law, and as vice-president (administration) for the University of Saskatchewan.

College of Law alumnae Nancy Hopkins, QC, and Tiffany Paulsen, QC, were also nominated in the Leadership, Professions and Management category. Alumna Haidah Amirzadeh was nominated in the Community Building category.

For 33 years, the YWCA Saskatoon Women of Distinction awards have celebrated the best in women’s achievements, across industry, culture and public service, and honoured ordinary women for their extraordinary contributions to the Saskatoon community. Funds raised through the event support YWCA Saskatoon programs and services.

Photo: A number of College of Law faculty members attended the ceremony in support of Beth.
(l to r) Marilyn Poitras, Barbara von Tigerstrom, Heather Jensen, Signa Daum Shanks, Patricia Farnese, Heather Heavin, Michaela Keet
(front) Beth Bilson