RSSIn The News

Archived News Items

College celebrates 2014 moot results

Photo: Ashley Smith presents Nathanial Day with the inaugural STLA Western Canada Moot award.

In honour of the 2014 College of Law moot teams and coaches, Dean Sanjeev Anand hosted a special reception on Apr. 2 in the Dentons Canada LLP Student Lounge.

At the reception, Dean Anand provided an overview of the 2014 competitions:

The Western Canada Moot team of Nathanial Day, Sean Fagan, Rylund Hunter and Grace Waschuk, with coach Ashley Smith, won the McIntyre Cup for the second straight year in a row on Feb. 14-15 in Vancouver. With the victory, they advanced to the National Sopinka Cup for the sixth consecutive year and placed third. They were the only non-Ontario law school to place in the team rankings. The U of S team has placed in the top three at this competition for four of the last five years. 

The Jessup Moot competition was held March 13-15 in Windsor, Ont.  The team, coached by Prof. Dwight Newman and John Gormley, QC, consisted of Matthew Bennett, Michelle Biddulph, Lorelle Binnion, Michelle Lang, and Breanna Needham, mooted well and had strong reviews from other coaches at the competition. The students scored 2nd overall in the written arguments and won Best Respondent Memorial. 

The McDougall Gauley Securities Moot Team of Kevin Hoy, William Lane, Alexander Morrison, Benjamin Rakochy and Erica Tang competed in the 2014 Davies Corporate Securities Law Moot held at the Federal Court in Toronto on March 7-8. This year’s moot problem was concerned with section 143 of the Canada Business Corporations Act, which deals with shareholders’ rights to requisition meetings of corporations. Bill Nickel and Michael Wright served as coaches for the team.

The Laskin Moot Team consisted of Christine King and Patrick Hopf (appellants); and Desiree Lalonde and Ryan Pederson (respondents). Their coach was Anna Singer. Overall, the team had very strong mooting rounds and received very complimentary and encouraging remarks from the judges. They were excellent ambassadors of the College of Law, demonstrating their strong abilities in a national forum and showing a collegial attitude with their fellow competitors from across Canada. 

The Gale Cup Moot team was coached by Mark Brayford, QC, and consisted of Samuel Edmondson, Stephanie Frazer, Nicholas Horlick and Curtis Mennie. Coach Brayford described the group as a “dream team” of strong criminal law students and was extremely proud of their performance at the Gale Cup Moot on Feb. 21-22 at Osgoode Hall, York University.

The Aboriginal Rights Kawaskimhon Moot team was coached by Assistant Prof. Marilyn Poitras and consisted of Leighanne Gardipy, Glenn MacKay, Gus Michalik and Carly Romanow. The non-competitive moot was held on March 6-9 at the University of Toronto where teams participated in circle negotiations and represented a First Nations community, the Northern Province or a resource company. Read more about the 2014 moot problem.

The 2014 INADR Mediation Advocacy tournament was held at Loyola University Law School in Chicago from March 5-8. One of the U of S teams advanced to the semi-final round in the mediator category—the first time in the four years that we have had a student advance beyond the preliminary rounds.  Two teams represented the U of S College of Law: (1) Sean Tessarolo, Brea Lowenberger, and Janelle Anderson; and (2) Adam McLeod, Chris Nyberg, and Jessica Nelson. The coaches for the team were Kathy Ford, QC, and Associate Prof. Michaela Keet.

The event concluded with the presentation of a new award sponsored by the Saskatchewan Trial Lawyers Association (STLA). Ashley Smith presented the Western Canada Moot Award on behalf of the STLA to Nathaniel Day.

Congratulations to Nathaniel and all members of the College of Law’s 2013-14 moot teams on another successful mooting season.