Endowed Chairs

Law Foundation of Saskatchewan H. Robert Arscott Chair

The Law Foundation of Saskatchewan Chair was established in 1989 under an agreement between the Law Foundation of Saskatchewan and the University of Saskatchewan. The chair was renamed the Law Foundation of Saskatchewan H. Robert Arscott Chair in 2014 in honour of H. Robert (Bob) Arscott, F.C.A., who served as secretary of the Law Foundation of Saskatchewan from 1973 until his retirement in 2013.

Income from the endowment for the chair is used to remunerate its holder, the Law Foundation of Saskatchewan Professor, and to support teaching and research at the graduate and undergraduate level at the college.

The wide terms of reference for this chair accommodate appointments in any area of law or in law and policy. Incumbents are accomplished legal scholars or other outstanding persons with a background in law and a demonstrated interest in scholarly investigation and practice relating to issues in law and policy. Although the holder of the chair has teaching duties, she or he will also engage in research and other scholarly activities, such as conferences and special seminars related to the chair. 

Dr. Anne-Marie Mooney Cotter, Esq. (August 2015 - August 2016)

Professor Christine Zuni Cruz (July 2014 - August 2015)
Professor John Wade 
(July 2013 - June 2014) *Watch Professor Wade's Negotiation Breakfast Series lectures on the college's YouTube channel*
Dr. Sydney L. Harring
(August 2012 - December 2012)
Dr. Richard Bauman (January 2009 - June 2009)
Dr. John Whyte
(January 2008 - December 2008)
Honourable Mr. Justice Grant Hammond (September 2006 - December 2006)
Professor Judy Fudge (January 2004 - July 2004)
Professor Denise Reaume (January 2003 - June 2003)
Professor Julien Payne, QC (July 1999 - January 2001)
Dr. Alan C. Cairns
(January 1997 - December 1998)
Professor Michael Taggart (January - December 1996)
Dr. Sydney L. Harring (July 1994 - June 1995)
Dr. Richard Gosse, QC (January 1993 - June 1994)
Dr. Allan Blakeney, QC, PC, OC
(July 1990 - June 1992)


Ariel F. Sallows Chair in Human Rights

In January 1979 the late Ariel F. Sallows, QC, of North Battleford, Saskatchewan signed a trust agreement ensuring the future establishment of a chair funded from his estate. The Ariel F. Sallows Chair of Human Rights is the first endowed chair at the College of Law, and the first endowed chair of human rights in any college of law in Canada. The chair, called the Sallows Professor of Human Rights, supports courses and research in human rights at both the undergraduate and graduate level. 

Paul Finkelman (January 2016 - present)

Kim Pate (July 2014 - December 2015)
Dr. Siobhan Wills (July 2013 - December 2013)
Ms. Mary Eberts (January 2011 - December 2012)
Dr. John Whyte (July 2010 - December 2010)
Dr. Roy Adams
(July 2009 - June 2010)
Dr. Marilou McPhedran
(January 2007 - December 2007)
Dr. Penny Andrews (January 2005 - December 2005)
Francisco Forrest Martin
(July 2000 - June 2002)
Professor John Foster
(July 1997 - June 1999)
Professor Shelley Wright
(January 1996 - December 1996)
Dr. Rebecca Wallace
(January 1994 - June 1994)
Dr. Nihal Jayawickrama
(July 1992 - June 1993)
Mr. Martin Ennals
(July 1991 - October 1991)
Dr. Abdullahi Ahmed An-Na'im
(July 1988 - June 1991)
Mr. Paul J. Mahoney
(February 1988 - July 1988)
Dr. Virginia Leary
(July 1986 - December 1987)

Estey Chair in Business Law

The Estey Chair in Business Law was established in 2012 by John and Bill Estey in honour of their father, the late Willard “Bud” Estey, former Supreme Court of Canada Justice. Their donation of $2 million is the largest-ever private donation to the college.

The Estey Chair in Business Law is intended to attract outstanding scholars in the area of business law. Chairholders will be expected to teach business law courses within the college, conduct world-class research in their field, as well as share their expertise and engage in outreach activities with the wider legal community.

Professor Cally Jordan (August 2015 - Present)

Professor Roderick Wood (July 2014 - June 2015) Estey Symposium on Experiential and Active Learning in Business Law