Jakaeden Frizzell and Dominga Robinson

College of Law's Outstanding Mooter Award for 2022

On February 10 – 11, 2022 the College of Law held its annual moot court competition for first-year law students.

On February 10 – 11, 2022 the College of Law held its annual moot court competition for first-year law students. Competing in teams of two, the first-year students write factums and deliver oral arguments in a mock appellate court. This year the moot problem involved a claim of defamation. The moot court competition is a component of the first-year legal research and writing course.

Students are judged by a panel of three judges, typically comprised of a faculty member, an alumni from the College of Law, and an upper year law student.

“There was an outstanding response from alumni this year, who volunteered their time to judge the competition,” said Leah Howie, co-Instructor of Legal Research and Writing. “With the platform being virtual the students benefited from the expertise of the alumni from across the country.” Karinne Lantz, co-Instructor of Legal Research and Writing, added: “The feedback we received from the alumni, faculty and student judges on the students’ performances was overwhelmingly positive.”

Moot court judges are asked to nominate students for the College of Law’s Outstanding Mooter Award. This year the competition was fierce and the Outstanding Mooter Award for 2022 was awarded to Dominga Robinson and Jakaeden Frizzell.

“I am so grateful, honoured and proud to have been chosen for the 2022 Outstanding Mooter Award. This was an impactful experience which has helped me to believe in myself and my ability to be a successful lawyer.” said Dominga Robinson, award winner. “The competition was tough with my fellow classmates being as strong as they are, and I am so proud to have risen to the top of such a stellar group. This Award will help me further in my career through a validation of my skills and I am extremely grateful for the endorsement. After this experience, I plan on continuing with mooting competitions as I pursue my Juris Doctorate and dreams of being a litigator.”

The following students were awarded honourable mentions:

Nathan van Beselaere

Madeleine Christopherson

Gavin Devonald

Violeta Dima

Payton Eckert

Katherine Gratrix

Hannah Jorgenson

Rachael Khamphasouk

Hannah Knight

Iryna Kutska

Kennedy Marley

Caydence Marley

Kristyn McDougall

Michelle Ramirez

Tanner Secord

Kira Tollefson

Kacey Vooght

Bailey Woloshyn