The Seventh Annual Saskatchewan Access to Justice Week is October 24-28, 2022.

This year, Saskatchewan is collaborating with local and national partners to co-host A2J Week events aimed at engaging both justice stakeholders and the public at large. We invite you to get involved in the events and join the conversation!

We want to hear from you!  Share your access to justice ideas, work, announcements, photos, and reports on social media using the hashtag #SKA2J2022

The establishment of the Saskatchewan Access to Justice Week is a spinoff of the “Putting the Public First” topic that was addressed by participants at the 2016 meeting of the Dean’s Forum on Access to Justice and Dispute Resolution (the Dean’s Forum) – participants at that meeting identified that a provincial strategy must use multiple vehicles and approaches for engagement of different communities facing access to justice barriers.

The Saskatchewan Access to Justice Week is one vehicle and approach to engage different communities in the access to justice conversation. 

The week will provide opportunities to:

  • engage new and diverse voices in the access to justice conversation; and
  • highlight initiatives that aim to improve access to justice for Saskatchewan residents. 

Did you know? Saskatchewan’s Access to Justice Week aligns with other provincial A2J Weeks taking place. The events listed below are hosted by local and national groups. To see what other provinces are up to for their own weeks and to register for their events, please click here.

** This event may qualify for CPD credits for lawyers.

Events

 

A2J Week 2022: Accountability in justice – Practical tips to increase access to justice (Canada Event: National)

Identifying and implementing ideas for improving access to justice is the first step to making a real change. How do you know if your changes are helping the people that are using your services? This session will focus on that crucial element that is often overlooked - accountability. We will hear from members of the federal Department of Justice and the Social Security Tribunal of Canada on how they measure accountability, what tools exist to support the process, and how you can use these ideas to learn more about the success of your A2J initiatives.

Speakers: Paul Aterman, Glenn Ng, Susan McDonald

Moderator: Candace Salmon

Time:

  • 7:30 am - 9 am PST
  • 8:30 am - 10 am MST/SK
  • 9:30 am - 11 am CST
  • 10:30 am - 12 pm EST
  • 11:30 am - 1 pm AST

Registration Link

 


A2J Week 2022: Innovations in access to justice – Technology and regulatory sandboxes (Saskatchewan Event)

Join representatives from the Law Societies of Ontario, Alberta, Saskatchewan and British Columbia to discuss how innovation in the legal professions is being explored through regulatory sandboxes, including Ontario’s Access to Innovation (A2I) pilot project. The regulatory sandbox model is a popular policy tool used by regulators to engage with innovative service providers that do not fit well within the existing regulatory framework. In this session, participants will learn how each jurisdiction is taking a different approach to exploring how legal services can be provided in non-traditional ways, while increasing access to justice and protecting the public interest.

Speakers: Lynne M.J. Vicars (chair of the Law Society of Ontario’s Access to Innovation Advisory Council), Len Polsky (manager of legal technology & mentorship at the Law Society of Alberta), Lesley Small (senior director of credentials, professional development & practice support at the Law Society of British Columbia), and Jody Martin (Director of Regulation at the Law Society of Saskatchewan)

Time:

  • 11 am - 12:30 pm PST
  • 12 pm - 1:30 pm MST/SK
  • 1 pm - 2:30 pm CST
  • 2 pm - 3:30 pm EST
  • 3 pm - 4:30 pm AST

Registration Link

Using Data and Design for Action: Next Steps for Family Justice in Saskatchewan (Saskatchewan Event)

Many efforts have been undertaken in Saskatchewan to improve the family justice system, including learning from and collaborating with other jurisdictions in order to improve access to and delivery of family justice. Recently, an alliance of jurisdictions from across Canada, including Saskatchewan, have been working together on exploring and adapting a strategy mapping design approach to transforming the family justice system by focusing on family well-being rooted in data and the brain science of Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs) and Resilience, and are expanding the work they are already doing, thanks to support from the Law Foundation of British Columbia. Join us for this roundtable that will invite perspectives on how leaders of the justice sector are using data and design methods to foster a collaborative and coordinated approach to improving family justice in Saskatchewan.

Speakers: Diana Lowe, Stacy Muller, Tiffany Paulsen, QC, Chief Justice Popescul

Moderator: Lionel McNabb

Time:

  • 11 am - 12:30 pm PST
  • 12 pm - 1:30 pm MST/SK
  • 1 pm - 2:30 pm CST
  • 2 pm - 3:30 pm EST
  • 3 pm - 4:30 pm AST

Location: Room 74, College of Law, Usask (Saskatoon) or LiveStream at law.usask.ca

 

 

 


Self Representation - Where Do We Stand and Where do we Go From Here? (Canada Event: National)

NSRLP staff will discuss the design, operation and outcome of the first-ever school for family litigants. This initiative engaged academics, legal professionals and members of the judiciary in a free 12-week online program that gave Canadian self-represented litigants with family law matters (divorce, custody, etc.) the tools to help them navigate the justice system on their own. 

NSRLP staff will discuss the research undertaken by the project to better understand the challenges faced by SRLs and SRLs' needs. Staff will also share the input received from SRLs regarding the efficacy of various initiatives aimed at improving their ability to participate in the civil justice system as well as the administration of the justice system more broadly. 

At the end of this workshop, the audience will take home a deeper understanding of the needs, motivations, and challenges of self-represented litigants as we begin to think about best practices and reform that encourages the more just and efficient administration of justice.

Speakers: Justice Lauwers (Court of Appeal for Ontario), Jennifer Leitch (NSRLP Director), Ilana Luther (NSRLP-East Director), Moya McAlister (NSRLP) and Dayna Cornwall (NSRLP)

Time: 

  • 9 am - 10:30 am PST
  • 10 am - 11:30 am MST/SK
  • 11 am - 12:30 pm CST
  • 12 pm - 1:30 pm EST
  • 1 pm - 2:30 pm AST

Registration Link

Data, Drugs & Disorientation: Access to Justice Research from the edge (Canada Event: National)

As we recognize Access to Justice Week across Canada, join the Access to Justice Centre for Excellence for a panel showcasing the research of British Columbia scholars Kate Gower, Michael Litchfield and Yvon Dandurand. Topics will include the use of data science to diagnose unmet legal need, law reform lessons from Canada’s shifting drug policy landscape, and the struggles of individuals navigating the justice sector’s online information labyrinth.

Speakers: Yvon Dandurand, Michael Litchfield, Kate Gower

Time: 

  • 9 am - 10:15 am PST
  • 10 am - 11:15 am MST/SK
  • 11 am - 12:15 pm CST
  • 12 pm - 1:15 pm EST
  • 1 pm - 2:15 pm AST

Registration Link

 


Barriers to accessing justice for Two Spirit, trans, non-binary and gender nonconforming people in Canada (Saskatchewan Event)

This talk presents the results of an Access-to-Justice legal needs assessment of Two Spirit, trans, non-binary and gender nonconforming (2STNBGN) people conducted by JusticeTrans across the lands colonially known as Canada. This presentation will focus on how discrimination and harassment cuts across other legal issues, including those related to employment, housing, migration, and medical treatment. Through a series of participant quotes, we will break down how transphobia, transmisogyny, racism, and colonization are experienced at both a structural and personal level resulting in a distrust and disengagement of the legal system. To close, we will examine participants’ visions of a more just future, which evoke both immediate reform and education work, as well as long term structural changes including the abolition of police and prisons, and the decolonization of the legal system.

Speakers: Cat Haines, Executive Director at JusticeTrans and Tai Jacob, Former Executive Director, JusticeTrans

Time:

  • 9 am - 10:30 am PST
  • 10 am - 11:30 am MST/SK
  • 11 am - 12:30 pm CST
  • 12 pm - 1:30 pm EST
  • 1 pm - 2:30 pm AST

Registration Link

 


A2J Week 2022: Taking action, making a difference: Recent developments in access to justice for Indigenous Peoples (Canada Event: National)

In 2018, a partnership of the Indigenous Bar Association, The Advocates' Society, and the Law Society of Ontario published the germinal Guide for Lawyers Working with Indigenous Peoples. In the short time since the Guide was published, there have been significant advancements in the law and the practice of law involving Indigenous peoples, including:

- Greater awareness of the need to take a trauma-informed approach to legal practice;
- The publication of the Final Report of the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls;
- Canada's passage of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples Act and Indigenous child welfare legislation;
- Developments in the law and litigation related to treaty interpretation, and the duties to consult and accommodate and to obtain free, prior and informed consent; and
- The application of Gladue principles to contexts beyond criminal law.

As a result of these seismic shifts, the original project partners have developed the 1st Supplement to the Guide for Lawyers Working with Indigenous Peoples to explore these topics and more.

Attend this panel discussion to learn about how to better serve your Indigenous clients in the justice system and what to be mindful of when participating in legal proceedings involving Indigenous parties or witnesses. Gain a greater understanding about how you can fulfil your duty to learn, and to act, and how to be courageous in breaking down barriers to access to justice and advancing reconciliation in the justice system.

Speakers: Jocelyn Formsma, Kathleen N. Lickers, Candice Metallic, Scott Robertson

Time:

  • 9 am - 10:15 am PST
  • 10 am - 11:15 am MST/SK
  • 11 am - 12:15 pm CST
  • 12 pm - 1:15 pm EST
  • 1 pm - 2:15 pm AST

Registration Link

 


Help With Familly Law Problems (in two locations this Wednesday!) ** (Saskatchewan Event)

Do you need help with court forms and processes? Do you wonder if you have options other than going to court? Come with your questions!

** Did you know, sessions for “Help With Family Law Problems” are offered in a number of urban and rural centres across the province? Click on the links below to find a family law session near you!

  • Meadow Lake Fall Sessions: Poster
  • Moose Jaw Fall Sessions:  Poster
  • Prince Albert Fall Sessions:  Poster
  • Saskatoon Fall Sessions: Poster
  • Regina Fall Sessions: Poster

 

We’ve Got the Data - Now What? --- Nous avons les données - Et maintenant? (Canada Event: National)

The Action Committee on A2J has been advocating for more national A2J data to support people-centred legal services. Now that a pool of good data is being collected and shared, how will the A2J community use it to tailor legal services, funding and policies to respond to people's civil legal needs?
This session, open to all, will highlight Canada’s A2J data, share key insights revealed by the data and then challenge a panel of A2J champions to identify ways that we can use the data. The session will wrap up with a discussion of the future trends in A2J data collection.

Le Comité d’action sur l’A2J a plaidé en faveur d’un plus grand nombre de données nationales sur l’A2J pour soutenir les services juridiques centrés sur la personne. Maintenant qu’un bassin de bonnes données est recueilli et partagé, comment la communauté A2J l’utilisera-t-elle pour adapter les services juridiques, le financement et les politiques afin de répondre aux besoins juridiques civils des gens?
Cette séance, ouverte à tous, mettra en évidence les données A2J du Canada, partagera les principales idées révélées par les données, puis mettra au défi un panel de champions A2J d’identifier des façons dont nous pouvons utiliser les données. La session se terminera par une discussion sur les tendances futures de la collecte de données A2J.

Time:

  • 9 am - 10:30 am PST
  • 10 am - 11:30 am MST/SK
  • 11 am - 12:30 pm CST
  • 12 pm - 1:30 pm EST
  • 1 pm - 2:30 pm AST

Registration Link

 


Wills and Estates Drop-in Help Session (Saskatchewan Event)

The Saskatchewan Ministry of Justice and Attorney General, alongside several partners and sponsors, has organized a wills and estates drop-in help session during Saskatchewan Access to Justice week. Two lawyers will be available to present information and answer questions that participants may have. Additionally, volunteers from ProBono Students Canada will be in attendance and able to help draft wills for those interested.

Time: 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm (SK time)

Location: Frances Morrison Central Library (Saskatoon)

 


Access to Justice in the Wake of the Divorce Act Amendments (Canada Event: National)  

Join us to hear from Shelley Hounsell-Gray, K.C., Dr. LA Henry, Phebe Quaye and Samantha Warden of Luke's Place as we discuss ways to promote access to justice in the family justice system. We will discuss measures such as the development of a Practice Memorandum on Family Violence (as in place in the UK to assist courts in addressing family violence), current national initiatives aimed at developing a Community of Practice around family violence, and on-the-ground initiatives such as Luke's Place Clinic in Ontario aimed at supporting survivors and their children navigate the family justice system.

Speakers: Shelley Hounsell-Gray, K.C., Dr. LA Henry, Phebe Quaye and Samantha Warden

Moderator: Ilana Luther

Time:

  • 12 pm - 1:30 pm PST
  • 1 pm - 2:30 pm MST/SK
  • 2 pm - 3:30 pm CST
  • 3 pm - 4:30 pm EST
  • 4 pm - 5:30 pm AST

Registration Link

Perspectives on the Access to Justice Crisis (Saskatchewan Event)

PBSC Panel Event on Access to Justice and Pro Bono Work. Coffee and refreshments will be provided.

Panel speakers for the event: Professor Sarah Buhler, Wendy Martin-White, and Cara Merasty

Time: 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm SK time

Location: Room 74, University of Saskatchewan College of Law

Past events