Entrance Scholarships

First year students are automatically considered for College of Law Entrance Scholarships listed at the bottom of this page (with the exception of the J. Barrie Thomson Entrance Scholarship - see below) upon acceptance into the law degree program. It is not necessary to submit applications for entrance awards. A preliminary screening of pre-law records of all students registered in first year results in a number of students being invited to provide additional information, leading to selection of scholarship recipients. These recipients are normally informed of their achievement in September.  

J. Barrie Thomson Entrance Scholarship:

This scholarship was established in 1991 by the will of the late Barrie Thomson, a former graduate and faculty member of the College of Law, who originally farmed in the Eston area. Incoming first year students are invited to apply for the scholarship, valued at $3,000.  Selection will be based on the following criteria:

  • academic achievement with a minimum "second class" or "B" standing
  • demonstrated past and continuing interest in the area of agriculture, either through previous university level study or through practical experience gained by farming

If you meet the above requirements, please submit a personal statement either in person, or by email,  to Doreen Petrow, Admissions, Room 280, by noon, Monday September 12, 2016.  For more information, please contact Doreen Petrow at doreen.petrow@usask.ca.   



  • The Gary & Tammy Bugeaud Centennial Entrance Award - $10,000
  • College of Law Academic Excellence Scholarships (6) - $7,500
  • William Elliott Scholarship - $6,000
  • Law Society of Saskatchewan Scholarship - $6,000
  • MacPherson Leslie & Tyerman Scholarship in Law - $6,000
  • Harris & Lauretta & Raymond Earl Parr Memorial Scholarship (2) - $5,000
  • Morris and Jacqui Shumiatcher Scholarship in Law - $2,000
  • Miller Thomson National Entrance Scholarship - $2,500 
  • Law Foundation of Saskatchewan 25th Anniversary Scholarship - $2,500
  • J. Barrie Thomson Scholarship - $3,000  
  • The Scotiabank Scholarship in Law - $2,000
  • Justice John H. Maher Memorial Scholarship - $1,500
  • Thomas P. & Peter S. Deis WWII Memorial Scholarship  -  $1,300 
  • P.E.  Mackenzie Entrance Scholarship - $1,500
  • James M. Stevenson Entrance Scholarship (2) - $1,000
  • Eldon Woolliams Scholarship (3)  -  $1,000  

Complete listing of College of Law scholarships, bursaries and awards (choose 'LAW' under 'College').